Facebook does not send you a notification when a user downloads an image from one of your albums. In fact, Facebook does not provide a way to track or signal activities within a Facebook profile or ancillary content. While you can modify your privacy to change the view of your albums, there is no way to prevent users from accessing your albums by downloading photos.
Editing the album’s privacy options
You can edit who sees your photo albums on Facebook by clicking on the “Account” button in the upper right corner and selecting “Privacy settings”. Then, click on “Make changes” and go to “Edit privacy for existing photo and video albums”. You can choose the privacy changes individually for each album of your own. You can also edit the changes for individual albums by clicking on the “Edit album” link at the top of the album page.
To share individual settings
If you are concerned about a certain Facebook friend who downloads and uses your images, or if you want to allow certain users to see an album, select “Customize” from the drop-down menu. You can hide your album from certain people or select “Specific people” from the “Make this visible for” drop-down menu. This allows you to make sure that certain images are visible to family members or close friends, or helps to hide embarrassing images of colleagues and employees.
At the top of each Facebook album itself there is a public link, which can be used to share your Facebook albums with anyone on the Internet regardless of the status of your privacy, even if they do not have a Facebook account. Anyone with a public link can download photos from your album. However, they can not access past photos protected by privacy on Facebook without a link to the other albums as well. Only the owner of the albums can access the public link of an album.
Share photos intelligently
If you are worried that some Facebook photos will be downloaded or shared, it is better to remove it from the Internet. Avoid putting pictures that show illegal activities or can be embarrassing. Avoid uploading photos with other people, unless you have permission.
- Help Center Facebook: do you notice if I look at pictures of your profile?
- Help Center Facebook: How do I edit the privacy of my photo albums?